Handel’s Messiah Audio Recording

Sunday, November 20, 2016
Holland Performing Arts Center
Josh Krohn, KVNO – recording engineer

Numbering of each audio file corresponds to the Barenreiter edition. Download the file and open with an audio player of your choice!

Curtain Speech – Amanda Patrick, Voices of Omaha president, and the Honorable Adam Morfeld, Nebraska State Senator from the 46th Legislative District

  • Jaime Reimer, soprano
  • Janet Carlsen Campbell, alto
  • Paul Koenig, tenor
  • Kyle Sandall, bass-baritone
  • Edward B. Hurd, conductor

Part the First – Episodio el Primero

1.) Symphony
2.-3.) Accompagnato: Comfort ye…; Air: Ev’ry valley… (tenor)
4.) Chorus: And the glory of the Lord shall be revealed
5.) Accompagnato: Thus saith the Lord (bass)
6.) Air: But who may abide (bass)
7.) Chorus: And He shall purify the sons of Levi
Recitative: Behold, a virgin shall conceive (alto)
8.) Air and Chorus: O thou that tellest good tidings to Zion (alto)
9.) Accompagnato: For behold, darkness shall cover the earth (bass)
10.) Air: The people that walked in darkness have seen a great light (bass)
11.) Chorus: For unto us a child is born

         Pause for offering

12.) Pifa (offering continues)
13.-15.) Recit.: There were shepherds…; Accompagnato: And lo, the angel…; Recit.: And the angel said…; Accompagnato: And suddenly… (soprano); Chorus: Glory to God
16.) Air: Rejoice greatly (soprano)
Recitative: Then shall the eyes of the blind be opened (alto)
17.) Duet: He shall feed his flock like a shepherd (alto/soprano)
18.) Chorus: His yoke is easy

Part the Second – Episodio el Segundo

19.) Chorus: Behold the Lamb of God
20.) Air: He was despised (alto)
21.-23.) Chorus: Surely/And with His stripes/All we like sheep
26.) Accompagnato: Thy rebuke hath broken his heart (tenor)
27.-28.) Arioso: Behold and see; Accompagnato: He was cut off… (tenor)
29.) Air: But Thou didst not leave His soul in hell (tenor)
30.) Chorus: Lift up your heads, O ye gates
39.) Chorus: Hallelujah!

Part the Third – Episodio el Tercero

40.) Air: I know that my Redeemer liveth (soprano)
41.) Chorus: Since by man came death
42.-43.) Accompagnato: Behold, I tell you a mystery; Air: The trumpet shall sound (bass)
47.) Chorus: Worthy is the Lamb that was slain/Blessing and honor/Amen


Many thanks to our friends at KVNO for recording this performance for a December 2016 broadcast!

Recording by our KVNO friends